PackIt Freezable Lunch Bag–Product Reviews

I needed a new lunch bag that could keep my food cold for at least four to five hours. See how I typed ‘needed’, past tense? I searched and searched online, and I found PackIt! This company claims:

Introducing PackIt – the freezable personal cooler that keeps your food colder, fresher, and safer.
Packit is a freezable lunch cooler designed to keep contents cooler, longer: up to 10 hours! There is a patented eco-gel permanently built into liner, no need for ice or gel packs, simply store your packit directly in the freezer.
Perfect for perishable foods; uneaten portions can go right back into the fridge, reducing waste and saving you money
PackIt coolers fold compactly for storage in your freezer until you are ready to use them.
PVC/lead free, non-toxic, earth safe and re-usable; hand wash interior and exterior.
PVC-free, BPA-free, lead-free, non-toxic, earth-safe and reusable.
Look good while having lunch!

First of all, let me say which aren’t true and which are. I know you must want to know ‘Does it actually stay chilled for ten hours?’ And no, it doesn’t. It lasts about six hours for mine, and that is it. But I needed it for lunch, which at the most was five hours, so it’s fine.
There IS some kind of gel pack built into the liner. It works the same way as if you put an ice pack into the freezer.
Coolers fold compactly into the freezer. Definitely. It folds easily, and there’s a secure Velcro band to ensure no accidental openings. Actually, I thought that there would be a zipper, but it didn’t. That’s okay, I haven’t had any food drop out, but when you unfold it and pick it up on its handle, you feel that the lunch bag is kind of dropping. Sounds weird, but that’s because it only has ONE Velcro band on the middle of the top flap and none on the sides, so it creates a sort of downward V drop when you pick it up. I’ll show you in my photos.
As for the Eco thing, that’s all true as well.
Looking good? My PackIt is a gorgeous color, to match my water bottle and my KitchenAid. Can you see I love that shade of pink? It’s a bit too bright for my taste, (I like a dusty rose color or a rosy pink) but hey, it’s pink! And there’s many other colors and patterns available for you, hopefully you can find one you like.
I’ve seen a few people comment about the weight of the PackIt being too heavy. Well, I don’t think it’s heavy. It’s lighter than a dictionary, that’s for sure. You getting me yet? Its heaviness comes from the built in gel pack, which you have to have. It’s the whole point of the PackIt! Here’s the PackIt on a scale for some of you liking accuracy, plus some close shots of the bag.
*It weighs roughly 1.1 pounds, I weighed it five times and it all measured round 555 grams. An iPad is 1.4 pounds. It’s around that weight.)

20131026-110809.jpg

20131026-110825.jpg

20131026-110834.jpg

20131026-110817.jpg

20131026-110843.jpg

20131026-110858.jpg

20131026-110851.jpg

20131026-110913.jpg

20131026-110906.jpg

20131026-110921.jpg

20131026-110928.jpg

20131026-110937.jpg

20131026-110944.jpg

20131026-110951.jpg

Conclusion: Should you buy this bag? I’d say, if you weren’t going to need it to stay chilled for after 5 hours, get it. It’s got a value price, not too shabby, and if you find a color/pattern that you like, GET IT! There’s nothing like love at first sight. It also comes in a mini version if you were wondering. Costs a few dollars less, but I would recommend the normal sized one more. Thanks for reading this review, and I hope I helped you in some way! If you have any more questions about this product that I didn’t mention, please do comment and I’ll get to it! Love ya, xo

One thought on “PackIt Freezable Lunch Bag–Product Reviews

  1. Pingback: It’s late October, but the sun is still shining bright! | Sassy ft Sweet

Leave a Reply

